Newest Work

Here you will find artistic nudes depicted in paintings. That’s just the way it is.

It’s been a couple of weeks while since I’ve posted something here; life has been unpredictable, and I have been dealing with some pretty awful stuff for a while. But I slog on, and try to paint every day. That being the case, I’ve done a few new paintings, so I thought I’d just post my recent stuff here, with, you know, some commentary and the usual brilliant insights.

First Stop: Musicians And Self Control Issues

I have very little self control sometimes. No surprise to those who know me well. But when it comes to painting, this means that when I set out to do a piece as a discipline, it doesn’t always stay within parameters. Like if I tell myself that I will only use one color plus black and white… but then I get lazy, or distracted, and throw in every color I have, or worse, just the colors closest to me in my big pile of paint tubes. Yea, I can be THAT lazy.

But I forced myself to do a few paintings using only one color plus black and white, and restricted to one of my favorite subjects, guitarists. Here are the results:

guitarist

“Guitarist,” from a photo of Shannon Curfman. Blue, black and white (acrylic on canvas, 16×20).

Guitarist with skulls beads

“Guitarist With Skull Beads.” Beside black and white, I allowed myself a touch of green on a red ochre background. Acrylic on canvas, 16×20.

Bird Is The Word

With Midsummer approaching I decided to explore the European myth of the war between winter and summer, expressed in mythology as the battle between the robin and the wren. In British and Irish lore, the robin (which is a wren-like flycatcher in Europe, as opposed to the robin of North America, which is a thrush) is the bird of summer; the robin lends his name to many British myths and mythic figures, such as Robin Hood and Robin Goodfellow. This is because the robin represents the God of the sun, the God of the forest, and the spirit of life and growth.

His enemy in this eternal battle is the wren, who represents the God of winter, of death, and of the hunt. This battle, representing the balance of death in winter and life in summer, is immortalized in many a folkloric song, poem and ritual, such as this one, often referred to as a nursery rhyme (as many ritual songs are…):

“Who killed Cock Robin?” “I,” said the Sparrow,
“With my bow and arrow, I killed Cock Robin.”
“Who saw him die?” “I,” said the Fly,
“With my little eye, I saw him die.”
“Who caught his blood?” “I,” said the Fish,
“With my little dish, I caught his blood.”
“Who’ll make the shroud?” “I,” said the Beetle,
“With my thread and needle, I’ll make the shroud.”
“Who’ll dig his grave?” “I,” said the Owl,
“With my pick and shovel, I’ll dig his grave.”
“Who’ll be the parson?” “I,” said the Rook,
“With my little book, I’ll be the parson.”
“Who’ll be the clerk?” “I,” said the Lark,
“If it’s not in the dark, I’ll be the clerk.”
“Who’ll carry the link?” “I,” said the Linnet,
“I’ll fetch it in a minute, I’ll carry the link.”
“Who’ll be chief mourner?” “I,” said the Dove,
“I mourn for my love, I’ll be chief mourner.”
“Who’ll carry the coffin?” “I,” said the Kite,
“If it’s not through the night, I’ll carry the coffin.”
“Who’ll bear the pall? “We,” said the Wren,
“Both the cock and the hen, we’ll bear the pall.”
“Who’ll sing a psalm?” “I,” said the Thrush,
“As she sat on a bush, I’ll sing a psalm.”
“Who’ll toll the bell?” “I,” said the bull,
“Because I can pull, I’ll toll the bell.”
All the birds of the air fell a-sighing and a-sobbing,
When they heard the bell toll for poor Cock Robin.

Here is the song, along with a description of the Irish midwinter ritual, in which the death of the wren signifies the eventual return of summer:

Armed with my knowledge of European lore, as I am, I decided to celebrate midsummer, the height of life, yet the death knoll for the robin, by painting the two birds:

Wren

“wren” above and “Robin” below. The runic text says ‘wren’ and ‘robin,’ respectively, and each has runic signs for the Gods of winter and summer. Both are acrylic on canvas, 16×20. When hung beside each other they face off.

Robin

Got A Black Magic Woman

Next I moved on to my current project. Where do you go from paintings of mythic Goddesses? To practitioners of folkloric magic, of course: Witches, sorcerers, shamans… I was at first inspired by Michael Parkman’s painting The Magician’s Daughter,¬† so that painting was something of a starting point for my first canvas

The Sorcerer's Daughter

“The Sorcerer’s Daughter.” Acrylic on canvas, 24×36.

Next came the practitioner of magic in the Arthurian legends, Morgana, or Morgan Le Fay:

Morgana

“Morgana,” acrylic on canvas, 24×36. Based on Rambo Suicide, because why not?

And the Goddess of European Witches, Diana:

Diana 2

“Diana,” acrylic on canvas, 24×36.

I plan to do a few more pieces in this series. I need a modern witch, a shaman, maybe a druid and an alchemist. And who knows if I will stop there?

Of course you can always check out my work on my DA.

That’s what I’ve got for now. Thanks for looking. Please ‘like’ and comment, and follow me on twitter, @killthehero3. OK, I really don’t say much there, but it’s nice to have a few followers.

Leave a Reply

