More Big Eyes Obsession

Since my last blog post, I’ve been experimenting more with Big Eyes characters. I left off basing my paintings on my experiences in New York’s East Village, and returned to fantasy and mythology, which I guess you could say is my “wheelhouse.”

I also got concerned emails from friends, upset that I had not mentioned their favorite “Big Eyes” artists, so I guess I should talk about some of these other artists as well…

For instance, my friend Tegan, who looks like a Big Eyes character herself, wondered how  I could fail to include Jasmine Becket-Griffith in my discussion of big-eye artists??? I wondered that myself when faced with my own inadequacy, so I correct this drastic error below:

jasmine-becket-griffith41

“Medusa” by Jasmine Becket-Griffith, http://www.strangeling.com/

I also discovered an amazing Big Eyes artist on Deviant Art, paulee1.deviantart.com:

flower_wallpaper_by_paulee1-d9mjwns

Flower wallpaper by Paulee1.

Also take a look at Judyta Anna Murawski, who is Fukari on Deviant Art, http://fukari.deviantart.com/:

fringe_by_fukari-d8k93r0

Fukari’s characters are more adult than many Big Eyes characters done by other artists. She places her characters into stories, and puts them into the types of dramatic romantic conundrums that 20-somethings often find themselves embroiled in.

On to my own current experiments. I was recently given a book of Strathmore 12×12 linen paper for acrylics:

strathmore acrylic

I decided to combine experiments on acrylic paper with my ongoing experiments with Big Eyes characters, and painted several pieces. Here they are:

The Girl Who Speaks To Ravens

Above: “The Girl Who Speaks To Ravens.” Below: “Siren.”

Siren

The Owl And The Pussycat 1

Above: I came up with this painting for “The Owl And The Pussycat.” My GF wondered why I didn’t make the girl the owl, so I repeated the theme below.

The Owl And The Pussycat 2

Through The Spyglass

“Through The Spyglass,” a bit of pirate pin-up art.

Those are my Big Eyes experiments for the moment. I really like the linen paper, by the way. It can take acrylics as a paste (impasto technique), or wet (watercolor technique). I haven’t tried mixing watercolor or guache with acrylics on this paper, but that may be the next experiment. For that one I may return to the East Village theme. I’ll let you know how that turns out.

I’ll leave you with a couple of my own customized Blythe dolls, which as you may recall were the start of my Big Eyes obsession…

blythe piano

Above, my Blythe tribute to Tori Amos; Below, Pirate Blythes.

blythe pirates

Thanks for looking. Please comment if so inclined.

Leave a Reply

